One card, two different displays?

Image
Need help with your PC hardware or software? Ask for it here
Post Reply
User avatar
Ferg
Sub Lieutenant
Sub Lieutenant
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:12 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: aferg01
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tonyferg
Location: West Brom

One card, two different displays?

Post by Ferg » Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:10 pm

I've got an Asus GTX 460. It's got 2xDVI (1 of which is connected to my monitor) and 1 HDMI out (Which is connected to the big TV in the living room)
Now, what I want do to is browse the net and the usual kind of rubbish that I do on the monitor that is connected by DVI, but play films and stuff on to the TV connected by HDMI, both at the same time.
Is this possible?
I've tried having a look around, but I got bloody nowhere.

Chabo

Re: One card, two different displays?

Post by Chabo » Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:29 pm

yes you can, just connect em both and right click on the desktop and go into screen settings, there are some options there you can choose from.

User avatar
Satan
Captain
Captain
Posts: 1052
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 6:12 pm
Gender: Male
Twitter: https://twitter.com/stevesmediasolu
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/srw1966
Location: From Leeds, live in Scarborough

Re: One card, two different displays?

Post by Satan » Mon Feb 20, 2012 6:56 pm

and if you have a gamepad (especially wireless) i can fully recommend XPADDER for use with your big tv!
Image
Dip me in honey and throw me to the lesbians!

User avatar
Foobies
Captain
Captain
Posts: 746
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:53 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://www.steamcommunity.com/id/ebsfoo
Location: Cornwall
Contact:

Re: One card, two different displays?

Post by Foobies » Mon Feb 20, 2012 8:04 pm

Just have it as extended desktop with your monitor as the main display and drag your media player onto your TV. I did it on nye at the pub. Music videos on the pub TV and BF3 on my monitor. Simples.

User avatar
Ferg
Sub Lieutenant
Sub Lieutenant
Posts: 163
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2011 9:12 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: aferg01
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tonyferg
Location: West Brom

Re: One card, two different displays?

Post by Ferg » Tue Feb 21, 2012 3:44 pm

Thanks for your help, fellas. I have sorted it, but it was a bit tricky with the TV being in the other room, and I couldn't see where the "play" button was. Until I realised that VLC (the media player of choice) has a play button when it's miniturised in the taskbar. Sorted. :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests