New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Image
Need help with your PC hardware or software? Ask for it here
User avatar
DarkDeamon
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
Posts: 2774
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:39 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Over the hills and far away
Contact:

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by DarkDeamon » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:43 pm

That's Trump being a cockwomble Chris
aka EvilB@stard
Insurgency Config maniac
Putting my hacks on your PC :devil:

User avatar
warlock359205
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1188
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 8:34 pm
Gender: Male
Location: portsmouth uk

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by warlock359205 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 5:02 pm

if you got a licence for av then use it I pay for avg myself, and I believe there is a disk management tool within windows 10 for the partition.
Image

User avatar
Anderson
Midshipman
Midshipman
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:22 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7656 ... 32814/home

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Anderson » Sun Oct 08, 2017 7:04 pm

hi all,

now I know it for sure: Trump and Putin are the world's most evil.
points don't count only wins!

User avatar
0v3rz34l0u5
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:35 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/0v3rz34l0u5
Location: Cambridgeshire

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by 0v3rz34l0u5 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:57 pm

Anderson wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:55 am
can win10 be used for portioning or special software? to do backup what should be chosen. Acronis true image I have somewhere with a license maker);.
Windows 10 can be used to partition drives. Go to the Control Panel (run control.exe if you’ve got the creators update) and then Administrative Tools > Computer Management > Disk Management.

I use Office 365 which gives me 1TB cloud storage and I use sync to keep important files backed up. This works for me as rebuilding a PC isn’t as time consuming as it used to be. For a backup solution, I’ve had a bad experience with Acronis. I have used AOMEI Backupper and Veeam (Agent for Windows) which could suit your needs.
Image

overzealous (adjective)
Too zealous; too enthusiastic or fervent.
"With his overzealous attempts to impress, he only managed to annoy them."

User avatar
Anderson
Midshipman
Midshipman
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:22 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7656 ... 32814/home

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Anderson » Mon Oct 09, 2017 5:24 am

hi 0v3rz34l0u5,

Thank you very much again.
points don't count only wins!

Chris_86

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Chris_86 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 12:33 pm

0v3rz34l0u5 wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:57 pm
Anderson wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:55 am
can win10 be used for portioning or special software? to do backup what should be chosen. Acronis true image I have somewhere with a license maker);.
I’ve had a bad experience with Acronis.
I use Acronis - what happened?

User avatar
DarkDeamon
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
Posts: 2774
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:39 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Over the hills and far away
Contact:

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by DarkDeamon » Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:13 pm

Tbh, if you are just backing up a few folders on a regular basis to an external/local network drive then the windows 10 in built backup is quite reasonable.
If you want to do anything fancier then it's shit.
aka EvilB@stard
Insurgency Config maniac
Putting my hacks on your PC :devil:

User avatar
Ztranier
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1132
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 3:06 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: =EBS= Ztranier [DPT]/ http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198008007768/
Location: Düsseldorf/ GER

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Ztranier » Mon Oct 09, 2017 4:18 pm

good shout EB

User avatar
0v3rz34l0u5
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:35 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/0v3rz34l0u5
Location: Cambridgeshire

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by 0v3rz34l0u5 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 6:02 pm

I use Acronis - what happened?
I created a Mac server that died and it couldn’t see the backup. I then stuck VMWare ESXi onto the Mac Mini and then virtualised the bastard! We use VEEAM Enterprise to back up and replicate.
Image

overzealous (adjective)
Too zealous; too enthusiastic or fervent.
"With his overzealous attempts to impress, he only managed to annoy them."

User avatar
Anderson
Midshipman
Midshipman
Posts: 126
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:22 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7656 ... 32814/home

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Anderson » Tue Oct 10, 2017 6:02 pm

hi EvilB@stard,

thank you again for all that help.
points don't count only wins!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests