New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Image
Need help with your PC hardware or software? Ask for it here
User avatar
Anderson
Midshipman
Midshipman
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:22 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7656 ... 32814/home

New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Anderson » Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:06 pm

hi ebs,

since i got so much most valuable help within very short time in regards of which components to be build in a new rig, i finally got my new rig arrived yesterday:

SAMSUNG 960 Evo M.2 500GB
INTEL Core i7-7700K, 4x 4.20GHz, boxed
CORSAIR HX750i High Performance Netzteil - 750 Wat
EKL Alpenföhn Brocken 2
MSI Z270 Gaming Pro Carbon
ASUS DRW-24D5MT schwarz, SATA, retail
MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X 8G, 8GB GDDR5X (V336
COOLER MASTER MasterCase Pro 5
G.Skill RipJaws V blau DIMM Kit 16GB, DDR4-2400
ACER Predator XB271HUAbmiprz - 27", LED

First of all thank you all who gave my so much help, it looks, smells and sounds beuatiful.

And while a specially Bonus was a installed full Version of:

MICROSOFT: Windows 10 Home 64Bit, DSP/SB

is install on a non partitioned evo 500gb.

so my question, what do next?

how should win10 be placed in a single partion, which size, where to put the rest (game, additional programms) do i need some Special Windows Settings to be changed, use Special Programms or Apps?

i would have an other ssd on sata probalbly avaliable, do i need another 960 Evo M.2 500GB for a 1:1 system backup, should i use a Virus scan and which?

i will use the pc mainly for gaming, some office work and i-net, probaly as a platform for getting on my server in my ambulance to use my specific medical patients Software.

So many question from your tech and software ful noob anderson.

Thank you pre up for your help!!!
points don't count only wins!

User avatar
warlock359205
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 1038
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 8:34 pm
Gender: Male
Location: portsmouth uk

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by warlock359205 » Sat Oct 07, 2017 8:30 pm

I would make a 150 gig partition and stickwindows on that and yes get a second drive as 500gig is not a lot for a modern game, windows defender is quite good you just need to turn it on
Image

User avatar
DarkDeamon
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
Posts: 2412
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:39 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Over the hills and far away
Contact:

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by DarkDeamon » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:14 am

Errr, windows defender is about as good as using a wet paper bag to carry bowling balls.
For AV, do a bit of research on performance and abilities. Look for a package that does AV and internet protection. Strongly advise against Norton's.
For disk, my personal preference is setup a reasonable sized c drive of around 150-250gb then stick a 2nd big disk in. I then redirect "my documents", "videos", "music" & "pictures" folders to use the bigger disk so that if you have to format the c drive, you don't lose your stuff. Also install most of your programs to the 2nd disk.
For backup, use an external plugin disk.
aka EvilB@stard
Insurgency Config maniac
Putting my hacks on your PC :devil:

User avatar
Anderson
Midshipman
Midshipman
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:22 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7656 ... 32814/home

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Anderson » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:39 am

hi warlock,

thank you for your quick and valuable reply.

so 150gb partion for win10 soley , rest for actually played games, all other stuff like additional programs and so on at second potentially slower sata ssd or standart hd. did I get it right?
points don't count only wins!

User avatar
Anderson
Midshipman
Midshipman
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:22 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7656 ... 32814/home

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Anderson » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:43 am

@ his darkness,

thank you so much for your most valuable reply. I worked over years with Kaspersky full or soley AV and found it pretty o.k.on my office pc but did not look how many gaming performance it costs me at my last gaming rig. That's why I asked the experts. Could you also vote for Kaspersky since I have a 5 place licences and 1 place left? Or give my your choice, while we all trusted your experience over years.

thanks pre-up.
points don't count only wins!

User avatar
0v3rz34l0u5
Warrant Officer
Warrant Officer
Posts: 487
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 9:35 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/0v3rz34l0u5
Location: Cambridgeshire

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by 0v3rz34l0u5 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:25 am

I have 3 physical drives. One 120GB SSD for Windows, one 480GB SSD for Games and a 3TB HDD for data (I do the same as DarkD and redirect my desktop, documents etc to the data drive (specifically into my OneDrive folder so that it’s synced with the cloud)).

For AV, I’d recommend Sophos Home. It’s free and is used by a lot of organisations.
Image

User avatar
DarkDeamon
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
Posts: 2412
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:39 pm
Gender: Male
Location: Over the hills and far away
Contact:

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by DarkDeamon » Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:56 am

If you have a Kaspersky license then use that. I've used Kaspersky for years and not seen that bigger performance impact.
aka EvilB@stard
Insurgency Config maniac
Putting my hacks on your PC :devil:

User avatar
Anderson
Midshipman
Midshipman
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:22 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7656 ... 32814/home

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Anderson » Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:55 am

hi 0v3rz34l0u5,

thank you for further help. the plan appears logical, I will proceed in that way. can win10 be used for portioning or special software? to do backup what should be chosen. Acronis true image I have somewhere with a license maker);.
points don't count only wins!

User avatar
Anderson
Midshipman
Midshipman
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2017 2:22 pm
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/7656 ... 32814/home

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Anderson » Sun Oct 08, 2017 11:56 am

@ his darkness,

thank you sir, Kaspersky sound as good choice for me, I like the virtual keyboard for logins.
points don't count only wins!

User avatar
Chris_86
Chief Petty Officer
Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:28 am
Gender: Male

Re: New rig- how to set win/system/components properly?

Post by Chris_86 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:17 pm

DarkDeamon wrote:
Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:56 am
If you have a Kaspersky license then use that. I've used Kaspersky for years and not seen that bigger performance impact.
Haven't there been some recent security concerns with that re its global origin?
Origin/Steam Inaccurate_Panda
Rig: i7 7700K, Corsair H115i, Gaming 7 Z270, Corsair 2x8GB 3000, Asus A8G GTX 1080, Corsair RM750x, Samsung 500GB + 750 GB SSDs, WD Blue 4TB, Corsair Crystal 460x || Asus ROG Swift PG279, Dell U2417HA || Corsair K70 RGB Cherry Brown, Razer Deathadder

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest