ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Image
Need help with your PC hardware or software? Ask for it here
User avatar
Chris_86
Chief Petty Officer
Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:28 am
Gender: Male

ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Post by Chris_86 » Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:50 pm

Right, so at the moment my drive setup is as follows:

C Samsung 500GB SSD for boot, applications, documents, photos (284 GB free)
D Crucial 750 GB SSD for games (238 GB free)
E Western Digital 3TB for ShadowPlay, Plex media, and automated Acronis backups of C and D

I've know that ShadowPlay shouldn't be used on an SSD, since caching 1440p footage at 50 mbps to an SSD will not do it any favours. Therefore I use the HDD for cache and saving footage. Also noticed that footage can sometimes be corrupted, and it slows the game down for a good ten seconds whilst it saves the file to the HDD. This slow-down wouldn't be mitigated by saving to one of the SSDs, since it's still reading from the cache on the spinning HDD.

I've considered the Elgato PCI card, but it's HDMI / 1080p only, which isn't useful.

At the moment I have 16GB of DDR4, so there's no room really to create a RAM disk comfortably since RAM usage can go north of 8GB during a game already. So my question is, will buying an extra two 8GB DIMMs and creating a RAMdisk do the job, or are there issues? Not much on the Internet about this, since most gamers aren't mad enough to consider this.

Alternative is an Intel Optane cache drive in an M.2 slot - apparently they can be used as regular drives. Anyone done this?
Origin/Steam Inaccurate_Panda
Rig: i7 7700K, Corsair H115i, Gaming 7 Z270, Corsair 2x8GB 3000, Asus A8G GTX 1080, Corsair RM750x, Samsung 500GB + 750 GB SSDs, WD Blue 4TB, Corsair Crystal 460x || Asus ROG Swift PG279, Dell U2417HA || Corsair K70 RGB Cherry Brown, Razer Deathadder

User avatar
Age.
Admiral Of The Fleet
Admiral Of The Fleet
Posts: 3760
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:10 am
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/age_uk
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/age_dub
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheProvokedPrawn/
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Post by Age. » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:29 pm

What are you trying to achieve? I've found Shadowplay is great for convenience but shit for video edits as it uses variable frame rates which is a nightmare in editing software. Obs studio is superior but more complex.
HILARIOUS Youtube videos
Image
--->Donate to keep EBS alive<---
If you have problems, be sure to check the Guides Section for simple idiot-proof guides with screenshots 'n' all.

User avatar
BillBailey
Vice Admiral
Vice Admiral
Posts: 3374
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 3:22 pm
Gender: Male
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/bill.bailey.9212301
Location: Birmingham

Re: ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Post by BillBailey » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:35 pm

Plus its a hog, Obs is much better.

User avatar
Chris_86
Chief Petty Officer
Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:28 am
Gender: Male

Re: ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Post by Chris_86 » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:51 pm

Age. wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:29 pm
What are you trying to achieve? I've found Shadowplay is great for convenience but shit for video edits as it uses variable frame rates which is a nightmare in editing software. Obs studio is superior but more complex.
Good shout I'll try that - but still need a place to cache. Do you use it for streaming or caching. If so, what drive do you use?
Origin/Steam Inaccurate_Panda
Rig: i7 7700K, Corsair H115i, Gaming 7 Z270, Corsair 2x8GB 3000, Asus A8G GTX 1080, Corsair RM750x, Samsung 500GB + 750 GB SSDs, WD Blue 4TB, Corsair Crystal 460x || Asus ROG Swift PG279, Dell U2417HA || Corsair K70 RGB Cherry Brown, Razer Deathadder

User avatar
Age.
Admiral Of The Fleet
Admiral Of The Fleet
Posts: 3760
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:10 am
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/age_uk
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/age_dub
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheProvokedPrawn/
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Post by Age. » Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:57 pm

Streaming and recording. No dvr like Shadowplay unfortunately but it's much more flexible and amazing for recordings by comparison.
HILARIOUS Youtube videos
Image
--->Donate to keep EBS alive<---
If you have problems, be sure to check the Guides Section for simple idiot-proof guides with screenshots 'n' all.

User avatar
Chris_86
Chief Petty Officer
Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:28 am
Gender: Male

Re: ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Post by Chris_86 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:29 am

Age. wrote:
Thu Jun 22, 2017 9:57 pm
Streaming and recording. No dvr like Shadowplay unfortunately but it's much more flexible and amazing for recordings by comparison.
I'm looking at it and apparently it caches in RAM.... isn't there now a replay thing where you can save the last few minutes of footage?
Origin/Steam Inaccurate_Panda
Rig: i7 7700K, Corsair H115i, Gaming 7 Z270, Corsair 2x8GB 3000, Asus A8G GTX 1080, Corsair RM750x, Samsung 500GB + 750 GB SSDs, WD Blue 4TB, Corsair Crystal 460x || Asus ROG Swift PG279, Dell U2417HA || Corsair K70 RGB Cherry Brown, Razer Deathadder

User avatar
Chris_86
Chief Petty Officer
Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:28 am
Gender: Male

Re: ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Post by Chris_86 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:07 pm

Okay, been looking at it and it's not recording at a high frame rate. Seems to record only at about 14-32 fps no matter what setting I use, so I'm going back to ShadowPlay.

Probably going with an M.2 Intel Optane module then; it's cheaper than the equivalent amount of RAM and seems to be very durable.
Origin/Steam Inaccurate_Panda
Rig: i7 7700K, Corsair H115i, Gaming 7 Z270, Corsair 2x8GB 3000, Asus A8G GTX 1080, Corsair RM750x, Samsung 500GB + 750 GB SSDs, WD Blue 4TB, Corsair Crystal 460x || Asus ROG Swift PG279, Dell U2417HA || Corsair K70 RGB Cherry Brown, Razer Deathadder

User avatar
Age.
Admiral Of The Fleet
Admiral Of The Fleet
Posts: 3760
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 10:10 am
Gender: Male
Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/age_uk
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/age_dub
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TheProvokedPrawn/
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Post by Age. » Fri Jun 23, 2017 1:15 pm

You're doing it wrong then. I'm getting 60fps at 3440X1440.
HILARIOUS Youtube videos
Image
--->Donate to keep EBS alive<---
If you have problems, be sure to check the Guides Section for simple idiot-proof guides with screenshots 'n' all.

User avatar
HonorOfDuty
SWO
SWO
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2008 7:06 pm
Gender: Male

Re: ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Post by HonorOfDuty » Fri Jun 23, 2017 2:07 pm

Isn't there an option in OBS to use the same encoder that ShadowPlay uses? Think it's called NVENC(?) try that, since they've incorporated that into OBS i never have had any issues regarding framerate while recording
Image
Hidden Content: show
A. R. Longworth wrote:I have a simple philosophy:

Fill what's empty.
Empty what's full.
Scratch where it itches.

User avatar
Chris_86
Chief Petty Officer
Chief Petty Officer
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 9:28 am
Gender: Male

Re: ShadowPlay with a RAMdisk

Post by Chris_86 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:17 pm

You're absolutely right, however if you enable Advanced Controls, you cannot use Instant Replay (or whatever they call it), and it's the save-the-last-five-minutes function that I need. It's open-source software, so there's little I can do about the low frame rates really. At least the Optane modules are cheap - the more I read about them the more I love them. They can also accelerate a system if you have a Z270 mobo.
Origin/Steam Inaccurate_Panda
Rig: i7 7700K, Corsair H115i, Gaming 7 Z270, Corsair 2x8GB 3000, Asus A8G GTX 1080, Corsair RM750x, Samsung 500GB + 750 GB SSDs, WD Blue 4TB, Corsair Crystal 460x || Asus ROG Swift PG279, Dell U2417HA || Corsair K70 RGB Cherry Brown, Razer Deathadder

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest