World War Z

Image

Moderators: Admiral of the Fleet, Vice Admiral

Post Reply
llSatanll
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:40 pm
Location: From Leeds live in Scarborough

World War Z

Post by llSatanll » Sat Jun 29, 2019 8:47 pm

Play game get classes slowly built up, format PC and reload World War Z and back to rank 1 all classes and every setting lost.

What i did find is Steam found all games installed and did its stuff without any reinstalling, Origin was a complete twat and had to reinstall everything but at least it remembered settings etc. Epic games remembered UT settings etc but not World War Z which i'm seriously annoyed about :twisted: if anyone knows how to fix this please help............

User avatar
ProvokedPrawn
Site Admin
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 5:46 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: World War Z

Post by ProvokedPrawn » Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:16 am

Epic store is total trash. No cloud saves is so frustrating. No clue how to fix it if you didn't back files up first.
Image
Donate to keep EBS alive ---->Image

User avatar
0v3rz34l0u5
Posts: 522
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:29 pm
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:
0v3rz34l0u5’s avatar
Loading…

Re: World War Z

Post by 0v3rz34l0u5 » Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:17 am

Hmmmm, I've had a look and it would appear that it's not stored in the cloud as you'd expect. Your data is saved in %LOCALAPPDATA%\Saber\WWZ\client\storage\. This is STUPID as you'd need to back it up to prevent data and progression loss. Did you format your current drive or have you installed a new HDD or SSD?

If you have formatted your current drive, you could use a data recovery program such as iCare Data Recovery and see if you can recover. I've used iCare before and it's really helpful AND more importantly, it's free!!
Image

llSatanll
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:40 pm
Location: From Leeds live in Scarborough

Re: World War Z

Post by llSatanll » Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:14 pm

0v3rz34l0u5 wrote:
Sun Jun 30, 2019 11:17 am
Did you format your current drive or have you installed a new HDD or SSD?
Zealous me old sock sandwich you've got my cogs turning, i have put a new ssd on my OS drive and back up 'my documents' as that always has alot of game config files but i don't recall seeing world war z. However although the game was installed on another drive if the game auto saves the config files ( %LOCALAPPDATA%\Saber\WWZ\client\storage\) on drive C i have not formatted my old SSD yet.....

llSatanll
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:40 pm
Location: From Leeds live in Scarborough

Re: World War Z

Post by llSatanll » Sun Jun 30, 2019 12:33 pm

Zelous you have come up trumps here mate a very big well done and thanks, i would not have thought of backing up that location in a million years just 'my documents' i have transferred the config files from my old drive from said location and its all back. This is a good bit of knowledge for any others who play WWZ or other epic games. Get yourself lubed up and i'l show you how truly greatful i really am xxx

User avatar
0v3rz34l0u5
Posts: 522
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:29 pm
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:
0v3rz34l0u5’s avatar
Loading…

Re: World War Z

Post by 0v3rz34l0u5 » Sun Jun 30, 2019 1:30 pm

I've just got back from buying a massive tub of KY. I'm glad I could help! Leave this with me and I'll see if I can work out a way of backing up that location (e.g. to copy the files to OneDrive, Dropbox or other cloud storage medium).
Image

User avatar
0v3rz34l0u5
Posts: 522
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 8:29 pm
Location: Hertfordshire
Contact:
0v3rz34l0u5’s avatar
Loading…

Re: World War Z

Post by 0v3rz34l0u5 » Sun Jun 30, 2019 2:23 pm

I've created a script that runs at shutdown which backs the data up to my OneDrive folder.

You can find more info on how to create a similar script here: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=479
Image

llSatanll
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:40 pm
Location: From Leeds live in Scarborough

Re: World War Z

Post by llSatanll » Sun Jun 30, 2019 5:40 pm

well done matey will have a play

Post Reply